My KDE week

Replacing kio_sysinfo with kinfocenter

Posted on: January 19, 2013

From openSUSE 12.3 on and currently already for the RC packages of KDE SC 4.10, kio_sysinfo will be replaced by kinfocenter. The icon for kinfocenter is still missing in the Kickoff > Computer tab but will be added soon. Until then you can start kinfocenter from the normal Kickoff menu.

The main reason for the replacement is that kio_sysinfo is basically unmaintained and hence bugs do not get fixed.

If you were using kio_sysinfo, please check whether kinfocenter provides all the info and functionality you used with kio_sysinfo. If not, post your suggestions here or to the opensuse-kde mailinglist.

Missing information from kinfocenter’s  summary I noticed so far:

  • temperatures
  • free hard disk space for each partition
  • current CPU frequency

Most info is available, even in more detail than kio_sysinfo did show it, yet not as part of the summary. E.g. graphics info, memory stats etc.

11 Responses to "Replacing kio_sysinfo with kinfocenter"

Hi

As I understand, KInfoCenter is standalone application. Will it be OpenSuse-specific, or are there plans to make it part of KDE SC (so it will be available also for users of other distributions)?

FWIW, it is already a regular in kubuntu.

KInfoCenter has always been part of the SC. Any improvements we make will be upstreamed.

I must admit I did not do my homework – I didn’t know that KInfoCenter already exists. I though it’s new application developed to substitute kio_sysinfo.
Anyway, it’s good to hear that any changes you might be doing will be part of future KDE SC releases :) .

only one change that we did will not be upstreamed… the geeko icon

A disappointing decision as kio_sysinfo provides such a good info summary – when Kinfocentre is a bit all over the place. I thought that the ommission of kio_sysinfo was a ‘bug’ when I installed Beta 1 – fortunately I had a copy of the rpm and could add it back,

I’d rather call it a sensible decision. One should not follow the KDE3 packages example and ship unmaintained code as package, confusing “packaged” with “maintained”.

Please be more precise about the things you miss “a bit all over the place” is not really helpful.

Sorry I was speaking from a ‘user’ perspective not a developer or security point of view. kio-sysinfo gives me a complete overview of my p/c – when opening kinfocentre it just tells me my o/s version, my processor and that I have a hard drive!. sysinfo shows me my partitions and the space left and my graphic card details. For example to find the former takes five clicks (using kinfocentre|) and the information is not shown as clearly (as sysinfo).

These are the uses we want to find out about, so we can adapt kinfocenter to meet them.

I have exactly the same problem, i cant work with KInfoCenter, it needs so much clicks to see stuff, and it wont show me really usefull information.

Old Sysinfo had on one screen right when it pops up the ram usage, the OS version of my Opensuse (sometime sim really not sure what version i have) ALL harddiscs (even USB) that are connected, and with one clock you can mount them, and instant see how much space is left (even with colors) this is the most useful tool on opensuse and now since its gone i cant really use this linux pc anymore, im thinking about installing 12.2 again, but 12.3 solved a lot of my monitor / switchbox problems, horrible situation… i just want old sysinfo back.

KInfoCenter is for sure a nice System Information tool and more accurate then “sysinfo” but i dont see those 2 as similar tools, sysinfo was more a Everyday tool like the title sayd “My Computer” on the icon, now KDE is missing something that is an alternative to old sysinfo:/

To add to your list of missing items in the kinfocenter’s summary is the device and partition designation (like “/dev/sda1″). It’s available in kio-sysinfo when you hover the mouse over a drive name. In kinfocenter you have to drill down deep into the device viewer to get this info.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

